American Academy of Implant Dentistry and Foundation Recognize Outstanding Dentists

November 4, 2018

The American Academy of Implant Dentistry (AAID) recognized five dentists with the highest awards given by the AAID during its recently concluded 67th Annual Conference in Dallas. 


The recipient of the Aaron Gershkoff/Norman Goldberg Memorial Award was Kim A. Gowey, DDS, DABOI/ID, of Medford, Wisconsin. Dr. Kim A. Gowey earned his doctor of dental surgery degree from Marquette University School of Dentistry in 1977. He received the Psi Omega Scholastic Achievement Award and was elected to membership in Omicron Kappa Upsilon, a national dental honor society. Dr. Gowey is a past president of the American

Academy of Implant Dentistry (2006) and served on the Board of Trustees for 10 years. He served on the Admissions and Credentials Board for six years, as chairman for 5 years.

He was a founding member of the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry in 1985. Dr. Gowey earned Fellowship in the Academy of General Dentistry in 1988. He taught at Baylor College of Dentistry’s Continuing Education Department program “Hands-On Implant Dentistry.” Dr. Gowey was on the faculty of the Howard University School of Dentistry’s AAID MaxiCourse®, and is the Director of the Egypt MaxiCourse. He is on the advisory board of “Dr. Bicuspid.” Dr. Gowey is also an article reviewer for the Journal of Oral Implantology. He is on the Board of Directors of the ABOI/ID. He serves on the American Board of Dental Specialties Board of Directors.


The 2018 recipient of the Isiah Lew Memorial Research Award is Dennis P. Tarnow, DDS, of New York, New York. The Isiah Lew Memorial Research Award is presented by the AAID Foundation to an individual who has contributed significantly to research in implant dentistry. This award is given every year to perpetuate Dr. Isiah Lew’s spirit and enthusiasm for implant dentistry. Dr. Tarnow is currently clinical professor of periodontology and director of Implant education at Columbia School of Dental Medicine. He is the former professor and chairman of the department of periodontology and implant dentistry at New York University College of Dentistry. Dr. Tarnow has a certificate in periodontics and prosthodontics and is a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology. He is a recipient of the Master Clinician Award from the American Academy of Periodontology, Teacher of the Year Award from New York University, and Distinguished Lecturer Award from the American College of Prosthodontists in 2015. Dr. Tarnow has a private practice in New York City, and has been honored with a wing named after him at New York University College of Dentistry. He has published more than 175 articles on perio-prosthodontics and implant dentistry, and has coauthored three textbooks, including one titled Aesthetic Restorative Dentistry. Dr. Tarnow has lectured extensively in the United States and internationally in more than 45 countries


The 2018 recipient of the Paul Johnson Service Award was D. Timothy Pike, DDS, AFAAID, of Poolesville, Maryland. Dr. Pike was chosen for his contributions as an officer of the Northeast District from 2009 to 2013. He also served on the AAID Foundation Board from 2012 to 2015, and has supported the AAID as an Ambassador at the AAID Annual Conference in 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2017. Dr. Pike also was awarded the Honored Fellow distinction in 2017.


Dibyendu Mazumdar of India has been chosen as the recipient of the International Dentist of the Year Award. It is given to an AAID member who has demonstrated a significant contribution to the AAID by way of growth in membership internationally and scholarly activities. Dr. Mazumdar is the president of the Dental Council of India and he oversees the graduate and undergraduate education and liaises with the government of India for governance of dental education, practice, and oral healthcare for the public. He has been able to standardize the curriculum across the nation and has been instrumental in advancing the educational standards

in dental schools. His vision is to go digital with education and public awareness throughout the country of India with 1.3 billion people. He has been an ardent supporter of the AAID and has planned to institute fellowship programs in implant dentistry in dental schools with curriculum approved by the AAID.


Shankar Iyer, DDS, MDS, FAAID, DABOI/ID, of Elizabeth, New Jersey, was awarded the first-ever Terry Reynolds Trailblazer Award. Dr. Iyer graduated with honors from the New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry in 1994 and went on to pursue graduate studies in prosthodontics from the same university. He taught as a clinical assistant professor for several years at NYU department of post graduate prosthodontics. Currently he holds two appointments in the departments of periodontics and prosthodontics at Rutgers University Dental School in New Jersey. Dr. Iyer has lectured in more than 20 countries and presented at more than 100 symposia in implant dentistry and prosthodontics. Dr. Iyer is a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral Implantology/Implant Dentistry, a Fellow of the American Academy of Implant Dentistry (AAID), and received the Honored Fellow Distinction in the AAID in 2006. Dr. Iyer is a past president of the AAID (2017) and has served on the Board of Trustees, Global Committee, Finance Committee, Education Committee, Annual Conference scientific chair, and as an officer for the Northeast District. He is the director of the AAID MaxiCourse in Saudi Arabia, Abu Dhabi, New Delhi, Bangalore, and Sri Lanka, and co-directs the MaxiCourse in Las Vegas and at Rutgers University.


Established in 1951, the AAID is the only implant organization that offers dental implant credentials recognized by state and federal courts as bona fide. Its membership, which exceeds 6,000, includes general dentists, oral surgeons, periodontists and prosthodontists from across the United States and in 60 other countries.

For more information about the AAID and its credentialed members, visit the AAID website at or call the AAID at 312.335.1550 or 877-.335.AAID (2243).


« Return to News Releases