Isiah Lew Award

The Isiah Lew Memorial Research Award is presented by the AAID Foundation to an individual who has contributed significantly to research in implant dentistry. This award is given every year to perpetuate Dr. Isiah Lew’s spirit and enthusiasm for implant dentistry. Dr. Lew was an implant pioneer. He was a founding member of the AAID and served as its president and the editor of the Journal of Oral Implantology

In addition to publishing widely, he taught at New York, Columbia, Temple, and Farleigh Dickinson Universities, and the New Jersey College of Dentistry. He lectured to dental societies in the United States and around the world and produced a national television program on implants. Isiah Lew was born in Poland in 1915. After immigrating to the United States, he graduated from the University of Pennsylvania Dental School and then spent a lifetime conducting surgical and prosthetic clinical implant research. Dr. Lew was committed to the “where, why, and how” of implantology.

Each year this distinguished award honors an individual who has contributed significantly to research in implant dentistry and who has demonstrated singular leadership and/or responsibility in research that advances the science of implant dentistry.

Nominations for the 2023 Isiah Lew Memorial Research Award are open April 3 and will be accepted until May 1st.

Submit a nomination here


AAID Foundation

The future of implant dentistry will be built upon the commitments we make today.

Donate Now